CanoeKayak Canada recognizes coaching contributions at Annual Summit

Posted By:

OTTAWA – CanoeKayak Canada formally recognized several of its coaches through award presentations held at its Annual Summit and Coaches Conference in Ottawa on Saturday night.

CEO’s Award

Jon Pike of Maskwa Aquatic Club in Halifax, NS was the winner of CanoeKayak Canada’s CEO’s Award. This award is in recognition of a coach going above and beyond to contribute to the advancement of CanoeKayak in addition to their regular coaching duties. Jon has been involved as a coach for the Olympic Hopes Regatta and the Junior Academy Camps. He has served on committees in the Atlantic Division and was involved with a program for youth recovering from addiction. He receintly led Maskwa to its best ever showing at the Canadian Sprint CanoeKayak Championships. CEO Casey Wade presented Pike with the award.

Club Development Award

Mike Holroyd of Alberta Slalom Canoe Kayak was the winner of the Club Development Award. Holoroyd has played an instrumental role in developing the sport in clubs across Alberta. He has spearheaded many initiatives to get more people into the sport and has developed year-round training programs for paddlers of a wide variety of ages and abilities.

Petro-Canada Coaching Excellence Awards

Frédéric Jobin and Mark Granger were both recipients the Petro-Canada Coaching Excellence Awards through the Coaching Association of Canada. Jobin coached Mark de Jonge to a gold medal in the Men’s K1 200m (Olympic event) at the 2015 ICF Canoe Sprint World Championships for a second year in a row. Mark Granger coached Émilie Fournel to a World bronze medal in the Women’s K1 5000m. The awards were originally presented by the Coaching Association of Canada at their Sport Leadership Conference on November 14.

Coach Recognition Award Winners

Coaches whose athletes were selected to a National Team this year or achieved a gold medal at National Championships received the Coach Recognition Award. A total of 43 coaches in sprint, slalom and canoe polo were awarded with 18 coaches winning the award for the first time.

*New winner

Coach Club / Affiliation Discipline
*Adrienne Keene Senobe (Dartmouth, NS) Sprint
*Andres Carranco Rideau (Ottawa,  ON) Sprint
*Bevin Schmidt Ottawa River (ON) Sprint
*Brad Cameron Women’s Polo National Training Squad Polo
*Bridget Irwin Rideau (Ottawa,  ON) Sprint
*Eve Gaumond Lac Sergent (QC) Sprint
*Helen Savin Richmond Hill (ON) Sprint
*Jill D’Alessio Banook (Dartmouth, NS) Sprint
*Keegan Smith Central Alberta Paddling Excellence (AB) Polo
*Kyle Polsfut Edmonton Whitewater Paddlers (AB) Polo
*Kyle Saganiuk Pinch O Crow Creekers (Pincher Creek, AB) Slalom
*Nicole Haywood Rideau (Ottawa,  ON) Sprint
*Peter Polyzotis Balmy Beach (Toronto, ON) Sprint
*Reid Farquharson Rideau (Ottawa,  ON) Sprint
*Stuart Wilson Rideau (Ottawa,  ON) Sprint
*Tom Miller Cheema (Waverley, NS) Sprint
*Trevor Braun Yukon (Whitehorse, YK) Slalom
Adam Oldershaw Burloak (Oakville, ON) Sprint
Brian Hammer Pitt Meadows (BC) Sprint
Chris Chaisson Mic Mac (Dartmouth, NS) Sprint
Edgar Garza Calgary (AB) Sprint
Fred Loyer Cascades (Chelsea, QC) Sprint
Hunter George Burloak (Oakville, ON) Sprint
Jerome Seremak Toba (Winnipeg, ON) Sprint
Jon Allen Chilliwack Center of Excellence Slalom
Jonathan Pike Maskwa (Halifax, NS) Sprint
Kyle Jeffery Mississauga (ON) Sprint
Louis-Philipe Legare Valleyfield Centre d’Excellence (QC) Slalom
Lucy Radanova Maskwa (Halifax, NS) Sprint
Mari Ellery Balmy Beach (Toronto, ON) Sprint
Mathieu Pelletier Trois-Rivières (QC) Sprint
Michal Staniszewski National Slalom Tea Head Coach Slalom
Mike Holroyd Alberta Slalom CanoeKayak Slalom
Mike Kerrivan Cheema (Waverley, NS) Sprint
Paul Manning-Hunter Alberta Slalom CanoeKayak Slalom
Peter Martinek Balmy Beach (Toronto, ON) Sprint
Piotr Majewski Ridge (Maple Ridge, BC) Sprint
Rob Baert Senobe (Dartmouth, NS) Sprint
Samuel Raiche Lachine (QC) Sprint
Scott Oldershaw Burloak (Oakville, ON) Sprint
Spencer Pomeroy CKC Development Coach Slalom
Tamas Buday Sr Mississauga (ON) Sprint
Wade Farquharson Rideau (Ottawa,  ON) Sprint


CanoeKayak Canada is the national governing body for competitive paddling in Canada. The organization’s vision is to be a Canadian sport for families, communities and champions. From supporting clubs to developing a competitive National Team, CanoeKayak Canada works to grow a sport which is a rich part of Canada’s heritage.


For more information:

Ian Miller
Communications and Marketing Officer, CanoeKayak Canada