de Jonge summits World Cup podium

Posted By:
Mark de Jonge (photo: Balint Vekassy)

Mark de Jonge (photo: Balint Vekassy)

RACICE, CZECH REPUBLIC – Mark de Jonge of Halifax, NS made a bold opening to his international race season by winning gold in the K1 200 at the second ICF Canoe Sprint World Cup in Racice, Czech Republic.

Ben Russell added Canada’s second medal for the day with a bronze in the Men’s C1 5000. This is Russell’s second medal of the weekend with another bronze yesterday in the C2 1000 with Gabriel Beauchesne-Sevigny.

Ottawa’s Ben Tardioli posted an impressive fourth place result in the C1 200 at his very first World Cup appearance. Jason McCoombs of Dartmouth, NS placed eighth in the same race.

In Men’s K2 200, Hugues Fournel of Lachine, QC and Étienne Morneau of Québec City placed fifth. Ryan Cochrane of Windsor, NS and Richard Dober Jr. of Trois-Rivières, QC were seventh.

Ben Russell (photo: Balint Vekassy)

Ben Russell (photo: Balint Vekassy)

In Women’s canoe events, Taylor Potts of Toronto was fourth in the C1 200 and Ottawa’s Megan Sibthorpe was eighth. The two paired for the Women’s C2 500 and placed fifth.

The Canadian team will continue on to the final World Cup in Szeged, Hungary next Friday to Sunday.

Summary of Results

Athlete(s) Event Rank
Mark de Jonge (Halifax, NS) Men’s K1 200 1st (31.183)Gold medal
Ben Russell (Dartmouth, NS) Men’s C1 5000 3rd (22:58.9)Bronze medal
Adam van Koeverden (Oakville, ON) Men’s K1 1000Men’s K1 5000 5th (1:37.71)7th (20:42.5)
Ben Tardioli (Ottawa, ON) Men’s C1 200 4th (40.656)
Jason McCoombs (Dartmouth, NS) Men’s C1 200 8th (40.970)
Hugues Fournel (Lachine, QC) & Étienne Morneau (Québec City, QC) Men’s K2 200 5th (32.859)
Ryan Cochrane (Windsor, NS) & Richard Dober Jr. (Trois-Rivières, QC) Men’s K2 200 7th (32.926)
Taylor Potts (Toronto, ON) Women’s C1 200 4th (50.031)
Megan Sibthorpe (Ottawa, ON) Women’s C1 200 8th (53.369)
Paul Bryant (Burlington, ON) Men’s C1 5000 6th (23:45.9)
Taylor Potts (Toronto, ON) & Megan Sibthorpe (Ottawa, ON) Women’s C2 500 5th (2:12.25)
Michelle Russell (Waverley, NS) Women’s K1 5000 8th (23:33.1)
Gabriel Beauchesne-Sevigny (Trois-Rivières, QC) & Roland Varga (Richmond Hill, ON) Men’s C2 500Men’s C2 200 5th (1:43.71)6th (38.171)
Ben Russell (Dartmouth, NS) & Paul Bryant (Richmond Hill, ON) Men’s C2 500 9th (1:48.26)
Émilie Fournel (Lachine, QC), KC Fraser (Toronto, ON), Una Lounder (Dartmouth, NS) & Hannah Vaughan (Dartmouth, NS) Women’s K4 500 10th (1:36.87)
Andrew Jessop (Halifax, NS) & Phillipe Duchesneau (Sherbrooke, QC) Men’s K2 500 11th (1:34.50)
Brady Reardon (Burlington, ON) & Rob Clarke (Mississauga, ON) Men’s K2 500 10th (1:34.20)
Phillipe Duchesneau (Sherbrooke, QC) Men’s K1 5000 31st (22:52.2)

Full Results & Start Lists

CanoeKayak Canada is the national governing body for competitive paddling in Canada. The organization’s vision is to be a Canadian sport for families, communities and champions. From supporting clubs to developing a competitive National Team, CanoeKayak Canada works to grow a sport which is a rich part of Canada’s heritage.


Media Contact:

Ian Miller

Communications and Marketing Officer, CanoeKayak Canada