Gauthier captures two more medals, four boats advance to World finals

Posted By:

Broadcast note: The 2014 ICF Canoe Sprint World Championships finals will be broadcast on Sportsnet One on Saturday at noon EST and Sunday at 3:30 p.m. See broadcast schedule for details.

Competing in A-finals tomorrow:

  • Adam van Koeverden (Men’s K1 1000)
  • Mark Oldershaw (Men’s C1 1000)
  • Andrew Jessop & Brady Reardon (Men’s K2 1000)
  • Genevieve Orton & Una Lounder (Women’s K2 1000)

MOSCOW, RUSSIA – Christine Gauthier has added another two medals to her collection in Paracanoe on the third day of competition at the 2014 ICF Canoe Sprint World Championships in Moscow, Russia.

She captured a silver in the Women’s V1 200 TA and a bronze in the V1 200 LTA. She had a jam packed day of racing and finished seventh in K1 200 LTA in which she holds five World titles. Gauthier rounds out her World Championship by medaling in three of her four races including a silver from Wednesday.3 female athletes Moscow

Christian Maranda of Québec, QC wound up thirteenth overall in the Men’s K1 200 LTA with a fourth place finish in the Paracanoe B-final.

Benjamin Russell (Dartmouth, NS) and Gabriel Beauchesne-Sévigny (Trois-Rivières, QC) have qualified for the final of Men’s C2 1000 on Sunday by winning their semi-final. The crew placed fourth at last year’s World Championship and with a strong showing so far this season are a crew to watch for on Sunday.

Adam van Koeverden of Oakville, ON won his semi in the Men’s K1 500 to qualify for the final. van Koeverden will race the K1 1000 metre Olympic distance tomorrow and the 500 on Sunday.

Laurence Vincent-Lapointe of Trois-Rivières, QC won her heat in the Women’s C1 200 to advance directly to the final. With seven World Championship title to her name, Vincent-Lapointe has been undefeated since coming on to the international scene in 2010. Competition in the women’s canoe discipline has risen rapidly and margins at the finish line keep getting tighter.

Vincent-Lapointe and Sarah-Jane Caumartin of Otterburn, QC also went directly to the final in C2 500 after placing second in their heat. They are the defending World Champions in the event.

In 200 metre heats, all seven Canadian boats advanced to tomorrow afternoon’s semi-finals. Tomorrow morning in Moscow will kick off with four Canadian boats competing in A-finals – three of which are Olympic events. The 5000 metre long distance races will finish up on Saturday evening. The remainder of finals are slated for Sunday’s program which includes 200 metre finals and relays to wrap up the Championships.

Summary of Results – Friday

Athlete Event Result
Christine Gauthier (Pointe-Claire, QC) Women’s V1 200 TA 2nd in final (1:02.56)Silver medal
Christine Gauthier (Pointe-Claire, QC) Women’s V1 200 LTA 3rd in final (1:01.90)Bronze medal
Christine Gauthier (Pointe-Claire, QC) Women’s K1 200 LTA 7th in final (55.212)
Christian Maranda (Québec, QC) Men’s K1 200 LTA 13th overall (44.033)
Benjamin Russell (Dartmouth, NS) & Gabriel Beauchesne-Sévigny (Trois-Rivières, QC) Men’s C2 1000 1st in semi (3:32.40)Advanced to A-final
Laurence Vincent-Lapointe (Trois-Rivières, QC) & Sarah-Jane Caumartin (Otterburn, QC) Women’s C2 500 2nd in heat (2:05.10)Advanced to A-final
Adam van Koeverden (Oakville, ON) Men’s K1 500 1st in semi (1:37.59)Advanced to A-final
Émilie Fournel (Lachine, QC) Women’s K1 500 4th in semi (1:52.13)Advanced to B-final
Jason McCoombs (Dartmouth, NS) Men’s C1 500  6th in semi (1:50.53)Advanced to B-final
KC Fraser (Toronto, ON),Michelle Russell (Waverley, NS)   Women’s K2 500 6th in semi (1:42.66)Advanced to B-final
Rob Clarke (Toronto), Philippe Duchesneau (Sherbrooke, QC), Andrew Jessop (Halifax) & Brady Reardon (Burlington, ON) Men’s K4 1000 5th in semi (2:56.87)Advanced to B-final
200m heats
Mark de Jonge (Halifax, NS) Men’s K1 200 1st in heat (35.181)Advanced to semi
Ben Tardioli (Ottawa, ON) Men’s C1 200 3rd in heat (40.603)Advanced to semi
Michelle Russell (Waverley, NS) Women’s K1 200 6th in heat (42.387)Advanced to semi
Laurence Vincent-Lapointe (Trois-Rivières, QC) Women’s C1 200 1st in heat (48.342)Advanced to A-final
Richard Dober Jr. (Trois-Rivières, QC) & Hugues Fournel (Lachine, QC) Men’s K2 200 2nd in heat (32.372)Advanced to semi
Jason McCoombs (Dartmouth, NS) & Aaron Rublee (Kamloops, BC) Men’s C2 200 3rd in heat (37.754)Advanced to semi
Genevieve Orton (Lake Echo, NS)Una Lounder (Dartmouth, NS) Women’s K2 200 5th in heat (39.582)Advanced to semi

Full Results



Broadcast Schedule

CanoeKayak Canada is the national governing body for competitive paddling in Canada. The organization’s vision is to be a Canadian sport for families, communities and champions. From supporting clubs to developing a competitive National Team, CanoeKayak Canada works to grow a sport which is a rich part of Canada’s heritage.


Media Contact:

Ian Miller

Communications and Marketing Officer, CanoeKayak Canada