R. Edgar Gilbert Award

The purpose of the R. Edgar Gilbert Award is to recognize those volunteers who have made significant and exemplary contributions to the Sprint Racing Discipline of CanoeKayak Canada in any one or more of the Builder Category, Official Category, and Coach Category. For full details on eligibility and nominating process see:

Gilbert Award Policy


Edgar Gilbert

Gilbert Award colour webEdgar Gilbert began his association with canoeing at the Valois Boating Club in the Eastern Division (now the Quebec Federation). But it was as an administrator rather than a competitor that he excelled, first with the Valois Club then with the Eastern Division. He served continuously as Secretary of the Division from 1926 to 1950. In 1928 he was first elected Secretary of the Canadian Canoe Association for a one year term, then re-elected in 1931 to the position he held until April 13, 1950 when he resigned his positions at the division and national levels for reasons of ill health. At the national level his term as Secretary was characterized by selfless dedication to the work of the Association and meticulous attention to the details of the job. His Annual Reports are still models to be emulated. He was appointed Manager of the abortive Olympic Team of 1940 but was chosen again in 1948 to accompany the team to London. On his retirement from active participation in 1950, the Board of Directors created and bestowed upon him the office of Honorary Commodore, a position he held until his death in 1966. It is fitting that the Canadian Canoe Association awards for its volunteers should commemorate the name of one who served the sport and the Association for so long with such distinction.

Thomas Hodgson

The art reproduction used for the Gilbert Award is from an original oil painting by Tom Hodgson, created expressly for this award.  The oil painting was completed in 1983, donated to the Association by the artist and is placed on permanent display at the national office.  Hodgson is a well-known Toronto artist whose work resides in a number of prominent galleries: National Gallery of Canada, Art Gallery of Ontario, Robert McLaughlin Gallery, Lyn Wood Gallery.  More importantly he is a paddler who competed under the blue and white of the Toronto Island Canoe Club for whom he garnered twelve national championships.  He won his first championships, Intermediate and Junior Single Blade Fours, in 1941.  But it was in Single Blade Tandem that he excelled winning Senior titles first with Art Johnson in 1948, 49, 50 and 51 and then with Bill Stevenson in 1953 and 1956.  He was selected to the Olympic teams in 1952 and 1956.  He retired from competition after 1956 but returned in 1981 at age 57 when the Masters Class events were introduced for the first time. The Gilbert award perpetuates not only the name of Edgar Gilbert, it perpetuates the name of Tom Hodgson, artist and remarkable paddler.


Award Year Builder Coach Official
1982 Kenneth Lane James Mossman Glen Adams
1983 Fred Johnston Peter Marzell Ken Smith
1984 Michael Scott Frank Garner Bob Sleeth
1985 Donald May Peter McCabe
1986 James Slayter Bill McKee
1987 David Findlay Mike Moir
1988 William Patterson
1989 Russ Dunn Dean Oldershaw Ken Butler
1990 Jim Chambers Kryzstof Lepianka
1991 René Pilon David Graham
1992 Robin Walsh
1993 Judith Tutty Tony Hall
1994 Art Quartermain
1996 Michael Chambers Mac Hickox
Robert Baert
Jim McGown
1998 Peter Fardy
Sharon Mousseau
Scott Logan
1999 Margery McDougall
2001 Mary Jane Abbott
Georges Delisle
2003 Lesley Anne Schmidt Scott Oldershaw
2004 Gerry Jorens Mark Granger Shirley Horne
2005 Jean-Guy Lahaie
2006 Charles Slade Dwight Corbin
2009 Yves Guerard
2012 Judith Tutty
2013 Lou Lukanovich




Gilbert Award web

Fair Play Award

The Fair Play Award is presented to recognize an act of fair play by an athlete or team during the year, up to and including the Canadian Sprint CanoeKayak Championships. Nominations are accepted until November 30 of each year for the award to be presented at the following Annual General Meeting. For full details on criteria and nominating process see Fair Play Award Policy.

Fair Play Award web


1998 – Thomas Hall (Pointe-Claire)

2006 – Pierre-Luc Laliberté (Pointe-Claire)