Canada’s Top Paddlers Aiming for the Podium at Two International Regattas this Weekend

Mai
22
Canoe Sprint, Paracanoe, Uncategorized, World Cups
Posted By: Canoe Kayak Canada

POZNAN, POLAND / BRANDENBURG, GERMANY (May 23, 2019) – The sprint and paracanoe community will be keeping a close watch on Canadian paddlers this week, as two International Canoe Kayak events kick off the competitive season. The International Canoe Federation’s (ICF) first Sprint and Paracanoe World Cup of the season is being held in Poznan, Poland from May 23rd – 26th, and the Brandenburg International Regatta begins on May 24th until the 26th.

The Canadian World Cup and the Brandenburg International Regatta teams were selected following the first set of National Team Trials which were held in Montréal in mid-May. Twenty-three Senior athletes were selected to represent Canada for the World Cups, and three Junior athletes were selected for the Brandenburg Regatta. The second and final World Cup will be held in Duisburg, Germany from May 30th – June 2nd.

“There are 56 nations here and many are making selections for the 2019 Canoe Sprint World Championships which is also the first Olympic Qualifier”, said Graham Barton, Chief Technical Officer.  “It should be a very competitive World Cup and will be a great indication of where we are and what potential we have to qualify in August. Our team is in good spirits and I am confident we will see some great results this weekend”

Canada’s Trinity Tratch (Calgary) will be the first Canadian paddler to race in Poznan on Thursday morning at 3:20 EST for the KL2 200m heats. Natalie Davison (Rideau) and Lissa Bissonnette (Pointe-Claire) will follow at 8:10 and 8:15 EST, respectively, for the K1 200m heats. On the men’s side, Alex Scott (Maskwa) and Pierre-Luc Poulin (Lac Beauport) will be racing K1 200m heats only one hour later.

World Champions Katie Vincent (Mississauga) and Laurence Vincent-Lapointe (Trois-Rivières) will also be making their debuts at the World Cup on Thursday morning at 9:15 and 9:20 EST, respectively, for the C1 200m heats, followed by many of our elite Canadian athletes battling it out later that day.

Meanwhile on Friday in Brandenburg, Germany, Canadian Junior athletes Sophia Jensen (Cascades) and Julia Lilley-Osende (Mic Mac) will both be competing in the C1 and C2 200m events, and Cameron Low (Balmy Beach) will be racing in the K1 200m event.

 

An overview of each event can be found below.

 

International Canoe Federation Sprint and Paracanoe World Cup 1

Start Lists and Live Results

 

When:

Thursday, May 23 (9:00 to 18:05 CEST) (3:00 to 12:00 EST)

Friday, May 24 (9:00 to 18:16 CEST) (3:00 to 12:16 EST)

Saturday, May 25 (9:00 to 17:12 CEST) (3:00 to 11:12 EST)

Sunday, May 26 (10:00 to 17:20 CEST) (4:00 to 11:20 EST)

 

Where:

Malta Regatta Course,

Poznan, Poland – Map

 

The event will be live streamed on the CBC sports website.

 

 

Brandenburg International Regatta

Start Lists

 

When:

Friday, May 24 (10:00 to 17:30 CEST) (4:00 to 11:30 EST)

Saturday, May 25 (10:00 to 18:10 CEST) (4:00 to 12:10 EST)

Sunday, May 26 (9:00 to 16:24 CEST) (3:00 to 10:24 EST)

 

Where:

Beetzsee Regatta Course

Brandenburg, Germany – Map

 

The regatta will be live streamed on the event website.

 

 

Visit Canoe Kayak Canada’s website to get more information and make sure to follow @PlanetCanoe and @CanoeKayakCAN for more live updates.

Subscribe to Canoe Kayak Canada’s mailing list to get all news and results directly to your email.

 

 

 

About Canoe Kayak Canada

Canoe Kayak Canada (CKC) is the national governing body for competitive paddling in Canada, one of Canada’s top performing summer sports with a total of 24 Olympic medals, and a leader in the Paralympic movement. Canoe Kayak Canada is a member-based organization that includes an intricate network of clubs as well as provincial, territorial and divisional paddling associations. Elite National Team athletes proudly represent Canada at various competitions around the globe – most notably the Olympic Games, Paralympic Games, Pan American Games, ICF World Cups as well as Junior, Under 23 and Senior World Championships. Follow Canoe Kayak Canada on TwitterFacebookInstagram and YouTube.

 

-30-

 

For more information:

Laurel MacAdam

Communications Intern

lmacadam@canoekayak.ca