2024 Sprint and Paracanoe National Training Squad

Canoe Sprint, Uncategorized
Posted By: CKC

Canoe Kayak Canada is proud to recognize the 2024 Sprint and Paracanoe National Training Squad.

The National Training Squad (“NT Squad”) is comprised of athletes who are Senior (18+) in the upcoming season who have been identified as being on the pathway towards Podium Performances at the Olympic or Paralympic Games. Being named to the NT Squad is not tied to AAP Funding Support (Sport Canada Carding) or being selected to a specific competition team. It is connected to CKC’s High Performance identification program which invests in specific athletes through our National Team Centres and our World Class Coaching and Integrated Support Team.

“As we enter 2024, with eyes on Paris we are fortunate to be working with this strong group of athletes,” said CKC’s Chief Technical Officer, Ian Mortimer. “Within this group we not only have podium potential for next summer, we also have a core group with their sights set on 2028 and beyond.”

Athletes who have also been nominated for support through Sport Canada’s Athlete Assistance Program are identified in the list below by an asterisk. Please further note that because the NT Squad is restricted to 18+ athletes, some AAP-nominated athletes, both U18 and Senior, have been included below in separate sub-headings.

A detailed overview of the NT Squad is available here.

Sport Canada’s Athlete Assistance Program policies and procedures are available here.

CKC’s Sprint and Para Canoe 2023-24 AAP Selection Criteria are available here:



Benjamin Brown

Brianna Hennessy*

Gabriel Ferron-Bouius*

Erica Scarff*

Mathieu St-Pierre* 

Women’s Canoe

Amelia Wojtyk

Anna Roy-Cyr

Élizabeth Desrosiers-McArthur*

Evie McDonald

Jacy Grant*

Jessica MacKay

Julia Lilley Osende*

Katie Vincent*

Sloan MacKenzie*

Sophia Jensen*

Zoe Wojtyk*

AAP Supported Athletes – Women’s Canoe

Abby Wojtyk (U18)*

Men’s Canoe

Alix Plomteux*

Andrew Billard*

Connor Fitzpatrick*

Bret Himmelman*

Craig Spence*

Nikita Ciudin*

Peter Bradley

Tyler Laidlaw*

Viktor Hardy

Zachary Kralik

Women’s Kayak

Courtney Stott*

Maddy Schmidt*

Maren Bradley*

Michelle Russell*

Natalie Davison*

Riley Melanson*

Tosha Besharah-Hrebacka*

Men’s Kayak

Brian Malfesi

Cameron Low*

Ian Gaudet*

Jacob Steele

Laurent Lavigne*

Nathan Koné*

Nick Matveev*

Pierre-Luc Poulin*

Simon MacTavish*

Vincent Jourdenais*

AAP Supported Athletes –Men’s Kayak

Jason Burkholder*

Jéremy Lantz*

Nathan Koné*