2019 Canadian Whitewater Nationals Complete

Canoe Freestyle, Canoe Slalom, Nationals, Wildwater Canoeing
Posted By: admin@canoekayak.ca

MINDEN HILLS, ONTARIO (August 20, 2019) – The 2019 Whitewater National Championships are now complete, after an exciting weekend of extreme slalom, downriver, freestyle and slalom events. 66 athletes from across the country gathered in Minden Hills, Ontario at the Minden Whitewater Preserve on the Gull River from August 14th to 18th.

Team Ontario claimed the overall Brian Creer trophy for earning the most points throughout the five days of whitewater competition featuring Freestyle, Slalom.

This renowned natural course was an excellent spot for the event with whitewater rapids ranging from Class II to Class IV. The preserve also had campsites where many participants stayed right next to the river.

The medallists for the Open events are listed below and complete results are posted on Canoe Kayak Canada’s website.

Canoe Kayak Slalom

Women’s K1

Gold Florence Maheu Quebec
Silver Lois Betteridge Ontario
Bronze Lea Baldoni Ontario


Women’s C1

Gold Lois Betteridge Ontario
Silver Haley Daniels Alberta
Bronze Sophie Gilfillan Ontario


Men’s K1

Gold Ben Hayward Alberta
Silver Trevor Boyd Alberta
Bronze Maël Rivard Ontario


Men’s C1

Gold Spencer Pomeroy Ontario
Silver Cameron Smedley Ontario
Bronze Liam Smedley Ontario


Mixed C2

Gold Isabel Taylor &

Finn Wakeling

British Columbia


Men’s C2

Gold Dane Menzies &

Reece Hately Honeyman




Downriver Classic

Men’s Open C1

Gold Cameron Smedley Ontario
Silver Yannick Laviolette Quebec
Bronze Spencer Pomeroy Ontario


Men’s Open K1

Gold Ben Hayward Alberta
Silver Warren Hastings Ontario
Bronze Harold Van Winssen Ontario



Downriver Sprint

Men’s C1

Gold Cameron Smedley Ontario
Silver Larry Norman Ontario
Bronze Spencer Pomeroy Ontario


Men’s K1

Gold Ben Hayward Alberta
Silver Trevor Boyd Alberta
Bronze Warren Hastings Ontario




Men’s K1

Gold Tyler Curtis Ontario
Silver Zach Zwanenburg Ontario
Bronze Kalem Kennedy Ontario


Women’s K1

Gold Alex Maggs Ontario
Silver Ayden Dermenjian Ontario
Bronze Laura Silverthorne Ontario


C1 Open

Gold Kalem Kennedy Ontario
Silver Zach Zwanenburg Ontario
Bronze Yannick Laviolette Ontario



Extreme Slalom

Open Men

Gold Ben Hayward Alberta
Silver Spencer Pomeroy Ontario
Bronze Yannick Laviolette Quebec


Subscribe to Canoe Kayak Canada’s mailing list to get all news and results directly to your email.


About Canoe Kayak Canada

Canoe Kayak Canada (CKC) is the national governing body for competitive paddling in Canada, one of Canada’s top performing summer sports with a total of 24 Olympic medals, and a leader in the Paralympic movement. Canoe Kayak Canada is a member-based organization that includes an intricate network of clubs as well as provincial, territorial and divisional paddling associations. Elite National Team athletes proudly represent Canada at various competitions around the globe – most notably the Olympic Games, Paralympic Games, Pan American Games, ICF World Cups as well as Junior, Under 23 and Senior World Championships. Follow Canoe Kayak Canada on TwitterFacebookInstagram and YouTube.



For more information:

Laurel MacAdam

Communications Assistant



Colleen Coderre

Communications Lead