Call for Nominations for the R. Edgar Gilbert Award and the Fair Play Award

Posted By:

The Sprint Racing Discipline of CKC invites nominations for the R. Edgar Gilbert Award which will be awarded at the annual general meeting of CKC in 2014, and the Fair Play Award which will be awarded at the Nationals in August 2014 in Regina. Please see the details for nomination under Policy on the CKC website.

R. Edgar Gilbert AwardGilbert Award

The “Gilbert” Award is to recognize outstanding service to our Association over a long period of time.  The award was established in 1983 to honour Mr. Gilbert who performed several duties in excess of 30 years, often setting his kitchen as the CCA office when he was the Secretary.  There are three categories for the Gilbert Award, i.e., Builder, Coach, and Official.  When considering your nominee, please specify the category as well.

Fair Play Award

The Fair Play Award is to recognize an act of fair play by an athlete member or team at or in the year up to and including the National Championships.  As you may be aware, Fair Play Canada and the Canadian Centre for Drug-free Sport have joined forces to form the Canadian Centre for Ethics in Sport (CCES).  Some of the objectives of the CCES, which compliment the criteria for our Fair Play Award, include the following:  to promote ethical conduct in all aspects of sport in Canada; promote the advancement of fair, ethical and excellent sport in Canada; achieve a safe, accessible and ethical sport environment for all Canadians by encouraging and promoting integrity, respect and high ethical standards in sport; and provide leadership, assistance and education resources to international communities to help establish and promote fair and ethical sport.

Fair Play Award

Fair Play Award

Nomination Procedure

The Trophies and Awards Committee will receive nominations in writing for each of the R. Edgar Gilbert Award and the Fair Play Award.  The deadline for submission of your nominations is January 10, 2014to Judy Tutty. The Committee will consider each of the nominations and make a recommendation to the Sprint Racing Council and presentations of the Awards will be conducted in accordance with the criteria set out in the policies.

If you have any questions, please