Canoe Kayak Canada Announces 2018 Coach Awards Winners

Posted By: Canoe Kayak Canada

OTTAWA, ONTARIO (December 6, 2018) – This past weekend, Canoe Kayak Canada honoured a number of coaches from different disciplines during the 2018 Annual Summit. We are proud to name the coaches who won the performance, development, leadership and recognition awards of the 2018 edition.


CKC Development Award

The CKC Development Award is presented annually to a coach that has demonstrated their abilities at developing a club or the sport through creating a new program such as aboriginal paddling or PaddleALL, successfully increasing club memberships in a new or specific program, shown improvements in performance at a provincial or national level or demonstrates concerns for the all–round development of the athlete.

Conrad Hutter Rideau Master’s Program
Mike Robinson Wascana
KC Fraser South Niagara
Pat Lester Carleton Place
Andy Parry Muskoka Kayak School
Conrad Hutter Rideau Master’s Program
Nigel Rockett Balmy Beach
Anthony Colin Whitewater Onratio



Coach Developer Award

The Coach Developer Award is presented to a coach who goes above and beyond their regular coaching duties, for the development and advancement of Canoe Kayak, while demonstrating a positive image of coaching, is a member of national or provincial committee, is involved in coach education training and outreach programs for other clubs.

Mike Vincent Marathon Saskatchewan
Jon Pike Maskwa
Ryan Stepka Ontario



Petro Canada Sport Leadership Awards

These awards are to recognize coaches whose athletes have excelled at world championships, Olympic and Paralympic Games. These recipients are some of Canada’s most outstanding national team coaches who have dedicated their time and efforts to ensuring that athletes reach their potential on an international stage.

Jan Kruk Nova Scotia Katie Vincent
Mathieu Pelletier Québec Laurence Vincent-Lapointe



Coach Recognition Awards

These awards are presented to coaches who have coached an athlete or crew to a gold medal at the Canadian Canoe Kayak Championships or coached an athlete who has been nominated to a CKC national team (Senior World Championships, Junior World Championships, Carded Athlete, or National Development Team)

Marathon Bob Vincent Ontario
Marathon Edith MacHattie SCC
Marathon Kris Archibald Nova Scotia
Marathon Mike Vincent Saskatchewan
Marathon Ryan Stepka Ontario
Marathon Trevor Robinson SCC
Slalom Andy Parry Muskoka Kayak School
Slalom Anthony Colin Whitewater Ontario
Slalom Brendan Curson CanoeKayak Saskatchewan
Slalom Louis-Philipe Legare Valleyfield Centre d’Excellence
Slalom Michal Staniszewski CKC Head Coach
Slalom Mike Holroyd Alberta Slalom CanoeKayak
Slalom Thea Froehlich Alberta Slalom CanoeKayak
Sprint Adam Mayo Cascades
Sprint Adam Oldershaw Burloak
Sprint Andres Carranco Rideau
Sprint Andres Dittmer National Team – Men’s Canoe
Sprint Anna Hetzler Cheema
Sprint Ben Tardioli Rideau
Sprint Cheyanne Farquharson Rideau
Sprint Chris Chaisson MicMac
Sprint Conrad Hutter Rideau
Sprint David Provost Lachine
Sprint Diane Tam False Creek
Sprint Doug Ellery Mississauga
Sprint Doug Tutty Mississauga
Sprint Edgar Garza Calgary
Sprint Éric Mihalovic Pointe Claire
Sprint Erin Donovan Cheema
Sprint Helen Savin Richmond Hill
Sprint Helene Gervais Shawinigan
Sprint Hunter George Burloak
Sprint Jennifer Cross Rideau
Sprint Jerome Seremak Manitoba
Sprint Joel Hazzan Ottawa River
Sprint Jonathan Pike Maskwa
Sprint Kevin McIntyre Balmy Beach
Sprint Kyle Jeffery Mississauga
Sprint Larry Cain Burloak
Sprint Leah Jessop Maskwa
Sprint Mathieu Pelletier Trois Rivieres
Sprint Maxim Poulin Lac Beauport
Sprint Michael Thomas Pointe Claire
Sprint Miles Little Burloak
Sprint Nathan Desmarais Sherbrooke
Sprint Nigel Rockett Balmy Beach
Sprint Pat Lester Carleton Place
Sprint Peter Martinek Balmy Beach
Sprint Piotr Majewski Ridge
Sprint Reid Farquharson Rideau
Sprint Rob Baert Senobe
Sprint Rob Sleeth Saskatoon
Sprint Samuel Raiche Lachine
Sprint Scott Oldershaw Burloak
Sprint Stanislav Marek Kamloops
Sprint Tamas Buday Sr Mississauga
Sprint Tessa Nagai Ridge
Sprint Toshko Kalpakov Banook


Visit Canoe Kayak Canada’s website to get more information and make sure to follow @CanoeKayakCAN for more live updates.

Subscribe to Canoe Kayak Canada’s mailing list to get all news and results directly to your email.


About Canoe Kayak Canada

Canoe Kayak Canada (CKC) is the national governing body for competitive paddling in Canada, one of Canada’s top performing summer sports with a total of 24 Olympic medals, and a leader in the Paralympic movement. Canoe Kayak Canada is a member-based organization that includes an intricate network of clubs as well as provincial, territorial and divisional paddling associations. Elite National Team athletes proudly represent Canada at various competitions around the globe – most notably the Olympic Games, Paralympic Games, Pan American Games, ICF World Cups as well as Junior, Under 23 and Senior World Championships. Follow Canoe Kayak Canada on TwitterFacebookInstagram and YouTube.




For more information :

Joannie Verret

Communications Coordinator

(418) 271-3785