François Hamelin added to Canoe Kayak Canada’s Board of Directors

Posted By:

OTTAWA, ON (October 24, 2016) – Canoe Kayak Canada’s Board of Directors has appointed François Hamelin to serve as its Independent Director for the coming year. Hamelin is an Olympic Champion in short track speed skating and has been selected to bring a perspective from outside the sport. This will be Hamelin’s second year serving on the 11-person volunteer board.

The Board is made up of two representatives from each of the Paddling Disciplines, four Paddling Association Directors and one Independent Director. The new Board will have its first in-person meeting at the annual Summit in Ottawa from December 2 to 4. A full listing of the Board with their term lengths is shown below.


Paddling Discipline Directors:

  • Sean Cannon, Sprint (2018)
  • Madeleine Hall, Sprint (2016)
  • Julie Crépeau-Boisvert, Whitewater (2018)
  • Anne Nicholson, Marathon (2017)
  • Harold Van Winssen, Whitewater (2018)
  • Fiona Vincent, Marathon (2018)

Paddling Association Directors:

  • Peter Giles, Sprint (2019)
  • Stephen Gallant (2017)
  • Tom Hall, Athlete Director (2017)
  • Chris Helyar (2018)
  • François Hamelin, Independent Director (2017)


About Canoe Kayak Canada

Canoe Kayak Canada is the national governing body for competitive paddling in Canada. Canoe Kayak Canada has been one of Canada’s top performing summer sports having won an impressive count of 24 Olympic medals. Canoe Kayak Canada is a member-based organization which includes an intricate network of clubs as well as provincial, territorial and divisional paddling associations. Elite National Team athletes proudly represent Canada at various competitions around the globe – most notably the Olympic Games, Paralympic Games, Pan American Games, ICF World Cups as well as Junior, Under 23 and Senior World Championships. Follow Canoe Kayak Canada on TwitterFacebookInstagram and YouTube.


For more information:

Ian Miller
Communications and Marketing Officer, Canoe Kayak Canada