Slalom Athletes Set to Take First Strokes at Junior/U23 World Championships

Jul
15
Canoe Slalom, World Championships
Posted By: Canoe Kayak Canada

KRAKOW, POLAND (July 15, 2019) – Twelve Canadian slalom athletes will be vying for podium finishes this week at the 2019 ICF Junior and U23 Canoe Slalom World Championships. The event is being held at the well-known Krakow-Kolna Canoe Slalom Course in Krakow, Poland, after a successful hosting of the same event in 2016. Athletes are competing from Tuesday, July 16th until Sunday July 21st, ending with the extreme slalom competitions.

The Canadian team has been training in Europe since the middle of June to prepare for this major international event, after having been selected to this team following the National Slalom Team Trials event held in Oklahoma City, USA from April 12-14th.

Canada’s Lois Betteridge competed in the first two ICF World Cups of the season and had excellent runs qualifying for the semi-finals at both events. She will be looking to build on these performances and put down more strong runs in women’s C1 and K1 in Krakow this week. Betteridge will also be battling for a medal with Jakob Kryworuchko in the mixed C2 event, where she narrowly missed the podium last year finishing fourth with a different partner.

Trevor Boyd is the second Canadian paddler who has competed for Canada already this season. Boyd participated at World Cup 3 in his first ever ICF World Cup just two weeks ago, completing clean runs in K1 and finishing 12th in the extreme slalom event.

“I’m happy to see a strong group of athletes in Krakow this year. A number of our Junior and U23 athletes have spent the last four weeks in Europe preparing for this competition while gaining valuable training time in Krakow, Augsburg and Prague,” said James Cartwright, Senior High Performance Manager and Coach Development at Canoe Kayak Canada. “These are classic race venues that will be hosting significant international races in the years ahead so it’s important that our Next Gen athletes learn to perform on these courses.”

The Canadian athletes are listed below:

U23 National Team

Athlete Event(s)
Austin Atkins K1
Lois Betteridge C1, K1, C2MX
Trevor Boyd K1
Jakob Kryworuchko C2MX
Keenan Simpson K1

 

Junior National Team

Athlete Event(s)
Jakob Kryworuchko C1
Jean-Benoît Lemay K1
Olivia Norman K1
Mael Rivard K1
Isabel Taylor K1
Jocelyn Taylor K1
Finn Wakeling C1
Mark Zielonka K1

 

What:

2019 ICF Junior/U23 Canoe Slalom World Championships

 

When:

Tuesday, July 16 (9:00am to 3:22pm CEST) (3:00am to 9:22am EST)

Wednesday, July 17 (9:00am to 5:51pm CEST) (3:00am to 11:51am EST)

Thursday, July 18 (9:00am to 5:10pm CEST) (3:00am to 11:10am EST)

Friday, July 19 (9:00am to 4:37pm CEST) (3:00am to 10:37am EST)

Saturday, July 20 (9:00am to 4:52pm CEST) (3:00am to 10:52am EST)

Sunday, July 21 (9:00am to 4:37pm CEST) (3:00am to 10:37am EST)

 

Where:

Krakow-Kolna Canoe Slalom Course

Krakow, Poland – Map

 

How to Follow:

The event will be livestreamed on the ICF YouTube Channel as well as the CBC Sports Livestream. Live results will be posted on the ICF Website.

 

Visit Canoe Kayak Canada’s website to get more information and make sure to follow @PlanetCanoe and @CanoeKayakCAN for more live updates.

Subscribe to Canoe Kayak Canada’s mailing list to get all news and results directly to your email.

 

 

About Canoe Kayak Canada

Canoe Kayak Canada (CKC) is the national governing body for competitive paddling in Canada, one of Canada’s top performing summer sports with a total of 24 Olympic medals, and a leader in the Paralympic movement. Canoe Kayak Canada is a member-based organization that includes an intricate network of clubs as well as provincial, territorial and divisional paddling associations. Elite National Team athletes proudly represent Canada at various competitions around the globe – most notably the Olympic Games, Paralympic Games, Pan American Games, ICF World Cups as well as Junior, Under 23 and Senior World Championships. Follow Canoe Kayak Canada on TwitterFacebookInstagram and YouTube.

-30-

 

For more information:

Laurel MacAdam

Communications Intern

lmacadam@canoekayak.ca

 

Colleen Coderre

Communications Lead

ccoderre@canoekayak.ca